Mon. Mar 30th, 2020

Wolves of Westminster

UK Political News and Opinion

PM reshuffles Cabinet, Chancellor resigns

2 min read
13 February 2020 | UK NEWS

Prime Minister Boris Johnson began his long-anticipated post-Brexit Cabinet reshuffle this morning, finalising the Government that he now wishes to take forward in leading the country into the 2020s.

In a move that sparked great surprise, the former Chancellor, Sajid Javid, resigned around midday. It has been reported that he was offered a continuation of his role, but only if he sacked one or more Special Advisers. In a meeting with the PM that lasted from around 10:30am to noon (far longer than usual), it appears that he refused to do so and resigned as a result. Rishi Sunak was subsequently promoted to replace him as Chancellor. Andrea Leadsom and Geoffrey Cox were other notable names to lose their Cabinet roles.

Sunak is 39, and becomes the second-youngest person to take on the role of Chancellor in modern British history after George Osborne, who was 38 when he became Chancellor in 2010. However, speaking to Wolves, Lord Hayward said that Sunak “does have the experience for the role” and that he had “a lot of time for Rishi”.

A full list of those involved, at the time of writing – including other non-Cabinet roles – is here. We will update this page with any new developments this evening.


Sajid Javid: Chancellor
Nicky Morgan: Culture Secretary
Jake Berry: Northern Powerhouse and Local Growth Minister


Julian Smith: Northern Ireland Secretary
Andrea Leadsom: Business Secretary
Theresa Villiers: Environment Secretary
Geoffrey Cox: Attorney General
George Freeman: Transport Technology and Innovation
Nusrat Ghani: Under-Secretary for Transport
Chris Skidmore: Universities, Science, Research and Innovation
Esther McVey: Housing and Planning


Rishi Sunak: Chancellor
Suella Braverman: Attorney General
Alok Sharma: Business Secretary
Anne-Marie Trevelyan: International Development Secretary
Oliver Dowden: Culture Secretary
George Eustice: Environment Secretary
Brandon Lewis: Northern Ireland Secretary
Chloe Smith: Minister for Constitution and Devolution
James Cleverly: Minister in Foreign Office and International Development
Nigel Adams: Minister in Foreign Office and International Development
Baroness Sugg: Undersecretary in Foreign Office and International Development
Lord Goldsmith: Minister in Foreign Office, International Development and DEFRA
Andrew Stephenson: Transport Minister
Chris Pincher: Housing Minister
Jeremy Quin: Defence Minister
Helen Whately: Health Minister
Robin Walker: Northern Ireland Minister
Greg Hands: Transport Minister
Caroline Dinenage: Culture Minister
Michelle Donelan: Education Minister
Simon Clarke: Housing, Communities and Local Government Minister
Kemi Badenoch: Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury
Paul Scully: BEIS Undersecretary
James Duddridge: Foreign Office Undersecretary
Chris Philp: Home Office Undersecretary
Kelly Tolhurst: Trade Undersecretary
Wendy Morton: Foreign Office and International Development Undersecretary / Assistant Whip
Stuart Andrew: Deputy Chief Whip
Amanda Milling: CCHQ Chairman


Priti Patel: Home Secretary
Dominic Raab: Foreign Secretary
Robert Buckland: Justice Secretary
Matt Hancock: Health Secretary
Liz Truss: Trade Secretary
Robert Jenrick: Communities Secretary
Gavin Williamson: Education Secretary
Ben Wallace: Defence Secretary
Grant Shapps: Transport Secretary
Thérèse Coffey: DWP Secretary
Simon Hart: Welsh Secretary
Alister Jack: Scottish Secretary
Kit Malthouse: Home Office Minister
Conor Burns: Transport Minister
Edward Argar: Health Minister
Chris Heaton-Harris: Transport Minister
Jacob Rees-Mogg: Leader of the Commons
Baroness Evans: Leader of the Lords
Mark Spencer: Chief Whip
Kwasi Kwarteng: BEIS Minister
Douglass Ross: Scottish Undersecretary
Michael Gove: Cabinet Office / Duchy of Lancaster


Penny Mordaunt: Paymaster General
Stephen Barclay: Chief Secretary to the Treasury
James Brokenshire: Home Office Minister

Like, follow and subscribe:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find posts from…

March 2020
« Feb    


Subscribe by E-mail